Reading, Writing & Food

When I picked up a book again back in January, I started in voraciously to say the least. It was near the end of January before I started my first book in quite a number of years. March just started and I’m halfway through book sixteen and it’s a big book: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Out of the books I’ve read so far in the Harry Potter series, this one is quite large at 734 pages. The first three were 400 some odd pages. It was very nice to see that the first two Harry Potter movies seemed to have been taken right from the pages of the book and stuck onto film! The Prisoner of Azkaban was close, but had definite deviations. And now I find that The Goblet of Fire has more deviations (which really is understandable seeing as they didn’t want to go beyond 3 hours for a movie) than the first three combined. I’m glad I saw the movies first. I have a good image in my head of the characters! And the book is so much more in depth, detailed and descriptive!

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

All this wonderful reading is trying to stoke my creative writing into bloom again. I used to love jotting down poems when I was young. And I did try starting a novel a couple of times, but after reading what I wrote, I tossed it into the trash! But all the reading did help me to conjure up a poem for my son for his birthday card. Wanted to make sure he got something nice since he’s turning 20 while he’s at Army basic training! I know that other eyes will be reading it so I wanted him to know how much I love him, but didn’t want to be mushy. So I sent this:

From the day you were born you brought sunshine and joy,

Smiles, laughter, tears… It ran the gamut

Your quick wit, your charm, and your very being

Always going; could never stay put!

From Phantom of the Opera you would often sing and  play,

You’ve always loved Star Wars, and Batman too.

From playing in The Lion King to Bye Bye, Birdie,

And succeeding in sports, there’s nothing you can’t do!

Your passion for health and helping others as well,

Shows the world just the man that you are:

Kind, considerate, loving, and loyal,

A wonderful man with a very big heart.

Now you’re out in the world on your own,

Starting a career and family… your own home sweet home.

You’re missed so very much and you always will be…

But soon the world will see what I see:

You’re Army Strong!

Yeah, yeah… I’m no professional. I dream, though! The world inside my head is so much nicer than the real world! In my mind, I can do anything I want. I also am not in pain in my dream world. I have a perfectly healthy body that does what I will it to. And I can cook (I can cook, it’s just I can’t stand for an extended period of time to cook like I used to could). And I’m a singer and actress. And my house is in Oregon in the perfect spot where I can see both the Pacific Ocean and Mount Hood. It’s a modest house; not even 2,000 square feet. But it has a great size kitchen with all the appliances just like I like them, a library with a cozy reading nook and a wonderful stereo system with all the music I could ever want to listen to. And curled up with me in that nook is my dog and a cup of coffee. If only that was reality!

BUT, in reality? Though life seems to suck most royally nowadays, it does have its shining moments. Like today. Went to the doctor for a follow up. Last time I went was the beginning of January. So when I got on the scale today, it showed I’m down to 190! That is 11 pounds I’ve lost in 2 months. Considering I can’t get around without the use of a cane and hurts to stay up long, that’s pretty awesome! But as I’ve mentioned in previous blogs, a necessary diet change has everything to do with it. I can’t say it enough: cutting out processed and refined foods as well as sugar, going gluten free, eating as much fresh, whole organic foods as is possible for you, consuming fresh raw milk and raw dairy and adding at least 2 tablespoons of organic virgin, unrefined coconut oil works magic on your body!

So as I finish out tonight, I’m going to settle for my music, a bite of my Lindor Lindt Excellence chocolate bar and a little Supernatural (my addiction… I love Sam & Dean!). It’s not bad for you and since I’ve been doing it for many months now, I know it’s a wonderful way to satisfy the chocolate craving!

2015-08-30 22.10.53

Leave a Reply

