Welcome to My Secret Garden!

So I have fallen behind. Life has happened. I meant to post the week of Christmas. Honest. But the holidays were not very kind. I have an aunt, my dad’s older sister, who has been in not so great of health for quite some time and we’ve been prepared for the worst. But Tuesday the 8th of December was not a day any of us were prepared for. As a few know, I live with my parents. And my dad’s only living (and younger) brother came over to visit at least once a week, mostly it had gotten to where he was coming to visit almost every day which we all looked forward to. Especially my sister and me. He was our favorite (only living) uncle. He would bring flowers for birthdays and Mother’s day, give us big bear hugs, and tease us.

So imagine my shock when my mom walks in that afternoon, walks back to my room where I was and tells me “I have some bad news.”  Her expression and the tone in which she said it made me think it was my aunt. But no, it wasn’t. She said “Uncle Donny died this morning.” I’m pretty sure we all know that we don’t live mortal lives forever, that we have souls that leave our bodies eventually, but nothing can ever prepare you for the unexpected death of someone you love so much. My dad took it the hardest. He and his brother had reconnected over the past couple of years and they were closer than they had ever been. He was just 69.

But age means nothing. My uncle had been up early that morning and was out in the garage working under one of his beautiful classic cars. He died down there of a heart attack. It could have been anyone. I’m struggling with health issues long standing and this past year has seen my thyroid disease (autoimmune… Hashimoto’s) freak out over the fact that my body decided it doesn’t need certain hormones anymore. Call me allergic to life now, but that’s okay. At least I’ve lost over 70 pounds thanks to the madness. But just because your thyroid decides to go from hypo to hyper doesn’t mean you get rid of the underactive symptoms: feel cold all the time, no energy, feeling completely drained, hair starts falling out. So between my uncle’s death and my thyroid making me feel downright miserable, I pushed all things to the back burner.

However, I finally talked my doctor’s office into doing more bloodwork than just for the one that they always only check for and was finally prescribed an additional thyroid medicine. I’m finally getting my energy back (can someone make my hair grow back?) and not feeling so weepy and moody. But at least I can read books without getting headaches and falling asleep again! YES! I used to read ALL the time when I was growing up. But after having 3 kids in 2 1/2 years time and raising them while fighting health problems, I had stopped reading. The desire was there, but never could get far in a book without having to put it down from headaches. No more!

I have my middle son to thank for that. He has the same love of reading. He has a number of books (not enough for even a small library yet, but he’s growing it!) and he has been loaning them to me to read. I’m a fan of science fiction, fantasy, historical fiction, thrillers (psychological and supernatural), mysteries, crime, and adventure. The only kind of books I really can’t get into are romance. I read a few of those in college, but it was such a burden to try and get through them!

So now my secret garden has been set free for the first time in over 20 years and it is wonderful! All the magical, wonderful things that you can possibly dream up can happen when you open a book. The real world disappears and you become part of a world unlike anything you can find in real life. And that is magical indeed!

Now to begin on book 7 of The Demonata series by Darren Shan:  Death’s Shadow. It may be considered Young Adult/Horror/Fantasy, but I consider the series pretty darn cool! Check out Online Book Club. And look up Darren Shan and go read his books. These are his books meant for adults as well as young adults. But if you’re looking for something a little bolder, check out his other site, Darren Dash. I’m off to watch Supernatural, again, until I fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

